Insomnium Logo

Winter’s Gate

Insomnium was formed in a small town of Joensuu in eastern Finland in 1997 by metalhead schoolmates  Niilo  Sevänen,  Ville  Friman  and  Markus  Hirvonen.  Drawing  inspiration  from  the blooming Scandinavian melodic death metal scene of the 90’s the young band soon found its own unique way of combining melancholy and fierceness with multifaceted lyrics.
From those days the only direction for Insomnium was to go steadily up and forward: album by album – from their 2002 debut In the Halls Of Awaiting via Since The Day It All Came Down (2004), Above The Weeping World (2006) and Across The Dark (2009) through to their Century Media debut One for Sorrow (2011) – also introducing Markus Vanhala as the new fourth member. And tour by tour the passionate musicians edged their way to the very top of the scene and have by now become the spearhead of melodic death metal made in Finland.

After their most successful album to date, Shadows of the Dying Sun (2014), the band wanted to challenge themselves and create something different; something that no one had done before. They forged a bold concept album Winter’s Gate (2016) which was based on an award-winning short story by Niilo Sevänen. The album consists of one epic 40 minute song and a book that has the story in English, Finnish and German. Musically it’s a meandering path into the dark that has also elements from  progressive, doom and  black  metal, all  woven to  one  captivating opus; their crowning achievement.


  • Niilo Sevänen - vocals, bass
  • Markus Vanhala - guitar
  • Ville Friman - guitar, vocals
  • Markus Hirvonen - drums


CC Booking

Worldwide exept USA and Finland